The town of Lüderitz stands in isolation on a great rocky peninsula between the Namib Desert and the Atlantic Ocean. Its colonial history dates back to 1883 when Heinrich Vogelsang purchased Angra Pequena (Portuguese, meaning “Little Bay”) and some of the surrounding land on behalf of Adolf Lüderitz, a German businessman, from the local Nama chief. It began life as a trading post, fishing and guano-harvesting town, but when diamonds were discovered in 1909 in nearby Kolmanskop, Lüderitz enjoyed a sudden surge of prosperity. Beyond the structures huddled together beside the bay and a lighthouse on the peninsula, the surroundings are much as Bartolomeu Dias found them in 1488, when his flotilla of three small ships first sailed into the uncharted anchorage. Lüderitz is located on the only part of the Namibian coast with a rocky shore. A peninsula with numerous coves (locally called fjords and bays) juts out of the coast at an angle to form the bay proper and is well worth a visit. Besides the main attractions such as Diaz Cross and Kolmanskop Ghost Town, Luederitz offeres fantastic catamaran lagoon cruises that highlight the islands of the rocky peninsula and also bring guests close to Namibia’s only colony of Emperor penguins on Halifax Island. Other day visits inside Luederitz consist of visiting an oyster farm, Namibia’s only abalone farm, town and township tours as well as peninsula tours.